Just For Fun: If I only had $100 to start over my makeup collection

I thought about doing a “Desert Island” post, but then I realized that would be too easy.  The first 10 products I thought of were easily over $200, total.

So, to make this a little bit more challenging, I’ve limited myself to only $100 (hypothetically speaking).

WARNING: This is harder than it looks!

Painting the scene: An asteroid plummeting toward earth lands, of all places, right on your makeup stash.  All of your precious beauty products have been lost.  Repairs to your house are costly, but, hey, a girl’s gotta have makeup, right?  To satiate your desire for all things shimmery and colorful, you allow yourself a strict budget of $100 to start over your collection.  What do you choose?  Answer below! (You can ballpark it.)

My Choices:

Eco Tools Six Piece Essential Eye Set:
$7.98
Total: $7.98
Why:
I love this kit and I use it on a daily basis.  My favorite two brushes are the blending brush and the angled brush which works well for almost any purpose.  This kit has every eye brush you could need and they’re all so soft!

http://www.walmart.com/ip/EcoTools-6-Piece-Bamboo-Eye-Brush-Set-1227/16627539

Eco Tools Blush Brush:
$6.56 – “blush” brush I use for powder foundation and blush
Total: $14.54
Why:
This is my holy grail of brushes.  I use it EVERY SINGLE DAY for my powder foundation and it works very well for blush, as well.  This brush also has worked well for applying liquid foundation when I’ve been in a pinch.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Blush-Brush-EcoTools-1-Brush/31346514

Lorac POREfection Baked Perfection Power:
$33
Total: $47.54
Why:
This is my ultimate holy grail when it comes to makeup products.  I couldn’t live without this product in my arsenal.  If I could only use one makeup product for the rest of my life, it would 100% be this powder. It has great coverage if I want it, but I can also just use a light dusting if I want to keep the shine down.  This is a really versatile product and can be used to set liquid foundation/concealer or be worn alone.

http://www.ulta.com/ulta/browse/productDetail.jsp?productId=xlsImpprod3540005

Maybelline Eye Studio Master Shape Brow Pencil:
$6.44
Total: $53.98
Why:
The shade selection is wonderfully un-orange-y which is difficult to find in drugstore eyebrow pencils.  It is super easy to use do to its pencil form and the spoolie is convenient to comb through your brows after filling them in to soften the look.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Maybelline-Eye-Studio-Master-Shape-Brow-Pencil/19524444

L’oreal full definition:
$5.84
Total: $59.82
Why:
Not only does this mascara create really voluminous lashes but it makes them look SO long.  I like that this formula is not too dry and not too runny and it is really black!  This is probably my top pic from the drugstore (I also love the green tubed Physician’s Formula Organic Wear mascara, but that’s pretty pricey for a drugstore mascara).

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Voluminous-Full-Definition-Blackest-Black-380-Mascara-.28-Fl-Oz/10314736

MAC Paint Pot in Soft Ochre:
$20
Total: $79.82
Why:
This works wonderfully to cover any discoloration/veining on the eyelids and can be worn alone for that purpose, but it also makes a fantastic eyeshadow primer and makes eyeshadow last all day. I’d suggest the Paint Pot in Groundwork if you have dark skin.

Milani Luminoso Blush:
$6.99
Total: $86.81
Why:
This blush is rather neutral so it goes with any eye or lip look you can imagine and it adds a beautifully radiant glow to the skin.  This blush is reminiscent of my beloved NARS Madly.

http://www.walgreens.com/store/c/milani-baked-powder-baked-powder-blush/ID=prod6057381-product

Covergirl Eye Enhancers 4-Kit Eye Shadow in Prom Queen:
$4.84
Total: $91.65
Why:
I love that this quad has some neutral shades (the 1st and 3rd colors would be great for everyday wear) but it also has a deep purple (it swatches darker than it looks-it’s great for eyeliner or a crease shade) and a soft green.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/CoverGirl-Eyeshadow-Kit-4-kit/10321466?action=product_interest&action_type=image&placement_id=irs-srp-1&strategy=PWVAV&visitor_id=56244985497&client_guid=0a7e4e00-4b8e-42de-a39b-18533c2e5377&config_id=8&parent_item_id=33700846%2C30098930%2C30520770%2C35028158%2C24789465%2C27081602%2C29954791%2C27152290%2C29880903%2C28172861%2C28173077%2C28172846%2C28173000%2C28173066%2C28173049%2C28172884&guid=1efc29b0-872b-40c2-b731-9e155222cdda&bucket_id=irsbucketdefault&findingMethod=p13n

Covergirl Eye Enhancers 3-Kit Eye Shadow in Shimmering Sands:
$4.44
Total: $96.09
Why:  
This trio is perfect for everyday wear and has a brown that is dark enough to smoke out a look for the evening.   These neutrals will go with any outfit so I don’t think you can go wrong with it.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/COVERGIRL-Eye-Enhancers/10321462

Maybelline Baby Lips in Grapevine: 
$2.97
Total: $99.06
Why:
I’ve used up three of these babies in a year (for me that’s a lot).  I love the beautiful grapey color it gives, yet it isn’t too much for everyday wear.  Don’t be fooled though, it definitely makes a noticeable difference on my lips.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Maybelline-Baby-Lips-Moisturizing-Lip-Balm/17324484

I came in quite close but slightly under $100!  This strict budget definitely made me think about what I would need when push came to shove and these products are great, all around.

If you only had $100 to start over your collection, what products would you buy?

9 thoughts on “Just For Fun: If I only had $100 to start over my makeup collection

    • I’m glad you enjoyed this post! I couldn’t believe how hard it actually was to stick within the budget and get all of the bases covered without settling for quality. My biggest (hypothetical) splurge was on foundation, as well. I think great skin is the most important, anyways. :) Thanks for reading!

  1. I totally agree about ecotools brushes. I also use the blush brush for powder everyday. I love to be able to control my application and it feels so soft.

      • I either use Make up for ever HD powder (but apparently the one from elf is exactly the same for a fraction of the price) or bare minerals mineral veil. I don’t like super matte finish powders and those two leave a nice natural finish. I just use powder to set my concealer and make my blush apply easier!

  2. oh, great post! Think I might do something like this as well.. :D will credit you, if I do! I like your choices… it is quite hard.. especially if you add brushes to them.. because good ones aren’t that cheap. I like your choice though.. reminds me of Zoeva’s bamboo brush set a bit. I shall play with your question… think about it.. :)

    • I tried so hard to fit a foundation I love and a Naked palette (or maybe theBalm’s Balm Jovi palette) into the mix but I would’ve had to really sacrifice other products. I also think there’s some great drugstore eyshadows out there so I don’t think I’d feel like I was settling. I would definitely miss the variety of makeup that a larger budget allows, though.

Leave a Reply

