The Performance of Revlon’s CC Cream is in the Name

Product: Revlon Age Defying CC Cream Color Corrector Broad Spectrum SPF 30 (Phew, that was a long one!)
Price: $13.99 for 1.0floz.  That’s on the pricier side for a drugstore product.

Revlon’s Description from their website: “It’s never too early to fight aging. This multi-benefit dynamo hydrates, smoothes, evens tone, diminishes the look of fine lines and dark spots, and protects against premature aging caused by sun. For perfected skin that glows.”

Description from the Ulta Website: “Revlon Age Defying CC Cream provides: Color Correction. Aging Protection. Skin Perfection. Targets the very first signs of aging – hyperpigmentation and fine lines. Skin tone is more even and looks brighter. Dry skin is instantly moisturized and has SPF 30 Broad Spectrum.”

The Claims (and my opinions):
-Hydrating (Yes)
-Smoothing (Not Really.  My skin just felt tackier)
-Evens Tone (Only if you don’t need much help to begin with.  I did notice a reduction in redness in my cheeks and chin, which is where I get red)
-Diminishes look of fine lines and dark spots (worsened the appearance after initial application.  4 hours later fine lines and pores were noticeably emphasized)
-Protects against premature aging caused by the sun (yes, there’s sunscreen)
-Skin Perfection (LOL, what a claim! I wouldn’t say my skin looked perfect)
-Targets hyperpigmentation (I don’t know what “Targets” means.  Is there a magical ingredient that makes them go away?  I doubt that.  This also doesn’t have enough coverage to truly cover up any hyperpigmentation.  It may diminish the appearance of it, but it will not be covered without concealer)
-Makes skin look more even (Yes!)
-Make skin look brighter (I would say it made my skin look shinier.  Shiny things reflect light and are therefore “brighter,” but I wouldn’t say it gave me a “lit from within” look.)

Rating: C-
Application: 4/10- greasy feeling, streaky application and hard to blend out.  Left with tackiness to touch.
Longevity: 6/10 – ~4hrs before you need to touch up.  This isn’t suited for someone with oily skin.  I have combo skin that gets mildly oily on my nose and it doesn’t hold up well since the formula is quite greasy feeling, itself.
Living up to Claims: 7/10, once you throw out the completely ridiculous ones.  I did see a noticeable reduction in redness in my cheeks and chin, but I don’t have too much to begin with.  I have a few blemishes on my chin and it cut down on a bit of the redness but didn’t do more than that.  As for the claims of reducing fine lines… This sucker FOUND my fine lines and emphasized them.  After 4 hours any lines or pores I had were very noticeable. This is almost never a problem for me.
Overall: This product never looked quite right on my skin the handful of times I’ve tested it out.  It looks like it’s just setting on my skin, which is a major pet peeve of mine.  As the day goes on, it is more and more apparently viable on the skin.  I had a similar problem with Revlon’s BB cream.   The color selection is quite slim for this product.  As you can see in my first picture below, the lightest shade is still too dark for me, and I think it’ll be too dark for many (at least in Oregon-we don’t get much sun here until summer, so many people aren’t tanned in the least).  I know many were a fan of the BB cream, so, if you were, you may like this product quite a bit.  If you were like me and strongly disliked Revlon’s BB cream due to the formula and texture, this will probably be a pass for you.  The lightest shade of the CC cream is a tad lighter than that of the BB cream.  If you have oily skin, I would definitely pass on this product.  Due to the very tacky texture of the CC cream I highly recommend setting it with a powder.  It really prolongs the wear time by a few hours.

If you’ve tried this product out let me know what you think of it!

As you can see, the lightest shade is still quite dark…

Color mismatch.

photo 1 (5)

photo 2 (4)

Leave a Reply

