Quick Review: New Tarte Amazonian Clay Blushes

Tarte has released three new blushes into its Amazonian Clay line: Flush, True Love and Fearless.  Overall, I was rather unimpressed with the blushes.  For the price point ($26 for .2oz) I expect more.  There are numerous drugstore blushes that preform multiple times better than this, for a fraction of the cost.  They were all plagued by the same problem of having an overly stiff texture and mediocre color payoff (getting the swatches below was a labored effort).  Unless you’re a light-medium skintone, I’d recommend skipping these blushes and checking out the new Clinique Cheek Pop blushes, instead.  The Clinique blushes have a divine texture and seem to be everything that these new additions to the Amazonian Clay line tried (and failed) to be.
Individual reviews below.

photo 1 (4)

Flush: Rating 5/10. A neutral toned bright pink.  It leans quite cool on me.  This was the worst performer of the bunch.  It was quite an effort to get ANY color to show up, let alone enough for the swatches below.  I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone who has darker than a light-medium complexion.  I could see this working nicely for someone with fair skin because it would be harder to overdo than some of the other blushes in the range.

True Love: Rating 7/10.  Once again , this shade was difficult to pick up any color.  The color did layer nicely without becoming powdery, though (something that wasn’t true for Fearless or Flush).  The texture of this blush is drier than others I’ve tried in the range. I would describe it as a red-orange coral.  From past experience, I am certain this shade would make me look like a sun-burnt lobster.

Fearless: Rating 6/10. This color, like the rest, was lacking in initial pigmentation.  It is difficult to get decent color payoff due to the intensely packed and dry texture of the formula.  This is a pink toned coral.  Again, I think this would be best suited for fairer complexions.  Maybe NC/NW 30 and lighter.

 

L-R: Flush, True Love, Fearless

L-R: Flush, True Love, Fearless

L-R: Flush, True Love, Fearless

L-R: Flush, True Love, Fearless

L-R: Flush, True Love, Fearless

L-R: Flush, True Love, Fearless

 

6 thoughts on “Quick Review: New Tarte Amazonian Clay Blushes

  1. I actually quite like flush. I like my blushes to be pretty subtle. But I have to say that I’m a bit over Tarte, I find their products to be a bit too expensive.

    • I do find their products to be a bit over-hyped and a little pricey for what you’re getting. One Tarte product that I’m dying to try is their Golden Tigers Eye eyeliner. I swatched it when a while ago when I was at Sephora and the swatch was still there 2 days later and it was one of the creamiest, smoothest eyeliners I’ve tried.

Leave a Reply

