My Top 8 Lip Colors For the Perilously Pale (or anyone who has lips!).

Q: What are your favorite lip colors? Share in the comments below!

 

One of the advantages, I guess you could say, of being fair skinned is how truly striking lip colors can look on you.  Bold lip color choices on light complexions are show stoppers, when done right.   Sure, it takes a bit of getting used to to wear a significantly-noticeable/there’s-no-way-anyone-won’t-notice-it lip color , but if you start wearing them around the house for fun, you’ll be used to seeing yourself in those shades in no time flat.  It’s important to be comfortable with what you’re wearing, whether it’s clothes, makeup, or what-have-you.

 

On another note, I personally think that rosy tones and berry hues look best (most natural?) on pale folks.  But also keep in mind, who says our makeup has to look natural?

If you like bold and glossy…

YSL Glossy Stain in shade 20 “Rouge Enamel”

This is one of my all-time favorite lip products.  This is definitely HG status for me.  Please note that I’m not wearing any other makeup besides the glossy stain and it already looks like I’m 9/10 of the way to having my makeup done.  If I slap on some mascara I could be ready for a night out on the town.  Statement lip colors make it look you spent 297% longer on your makeup than you really did.  (Please note that I’m a math major so my statistic is 100% accurate*).  My mother picked this shade out for me on the Sephora website and I am truly surprised how well it flatters my skintone.  This is a deep, cool-toned red but it appears to be fairly neutral on my lips.  Karla Sugar has swatches of the glossy stains if this color isn’t up your alley.  There’s tons of shade options from the safe, neutrals to the daring, neon oranges.

Here’s Karla Sugar’s swatches:

http://karlasugar.net/2012/03/ysl-vernis-a-levres-glossy-stains-lip-swatches/

http://karlasugar.net/2012/03/ysl-vernis-a-levres-glossy-stains/

 

Ingredient analysis: http://blushableme.wordpress.com/2014/01/24/ysl-glossy-stain-ingredient-analysis-courtesy-of-cosdna-com/

*Please note that I’m totally full of crap.

YSL Glossy Stain 20

YSL Glossy Stain 20, no other makeup

 

If you like bold and matte/satin…

Bite Beauty Shiraz

I have the color sheered out quite a bit (plus my cellphone cam washes out colors), but this is a very deep plummy color if not applied lightly.   For me this is a moderately dramatic color, in person.  On a scale of 1 (Revlon’s Creme Brule) to 10 (MAC’s Morange), Shiraz is a 6.75-7.  This color is mildly vampy as well, so this is one of my top pics for every-day wear in fall and winter.  This product is also slightly hydrating.  As far as lipsticks go, it’s one of the more hydrating formulas that I’ve tried.

 

Click for ingredient analysis

Bite Beauty Shiraz

Bite Beauty Shiraz

 

 

Below are my absolute favorite colors to wear everyday that I think would look great on a lot of fair ladies!

Products marked with an asterisk (*) are my absolute favorite for everyday wear.  

Revlon’s Crush is a beautiful berry shade.  It is balmy, like the name implies.  This product can be easily worn sheer or quite boldly, depending on your preference/mood.  

Tarte’s Dazzled was limited edition a couple years ago in a Christmas set and I’m SO sad that it’s almost gone.  UD’s Lovelust is an amazing dupe, but the formula just lacks severely and it has to be built up swipe after swipe before it looks nice (all of the other UD Revolution lipsticks are pigmented as heck.  What happened?!).   Dazzled looks rosy applied to my lips.  The pictures are definitely making it lean more peachy than it is. 

NARS’ Damage is a sheer grape-y color.  If sheer lipsticks aren’t your thing then avoid this and the last two products.  Personally, sheer and grape toned things are my absolute fav, so putting them together in one product is a total win for me.  (Maybelline’s Baby Lips in Grape Vine is another personal favorite of mine.  I’ve used up 2 completely!)

Buxom’s Wardrobe Malfunction is a balmy bright pink (or a “candy pink” as Sephora puts it) that lasts for ages.  The texture is slightly waxy, but that makes the color last through thick and thin…Okay, well through lunch and dinner.

Korres Lip Butters in Wild Rose and Plum are some of my favorite products for everyday wear.  They don’t last super long, but they basically are a tinted lip conditioner so that is no surprise. PS: the one in Jasmine smells DIVINE.  Seriously, if you want to know what Heaven smells like, smell the Jasmine lip butter next time you’re at Sephora.  It doesn’t smell like jasmine, but rather some wonderful sugary, sweet perfection.  Both of these are in my top 20 favorite makeup products of all time.

The lighting in my room is quite yellow due the the godawful shade of paint the management company decided to paint every single room in the complex.  Therefore, expect the swatches to be a little bit on the warmer side than in real life.  I tried to take pictures of the swatches at different angles and in different lighting so y’all could get a better idea of what they look like.

411

L-R, First 4: YSL glossy stain in 20, Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Crush*, Tarte LipSurgenze in Dazzled*, Bite Beauty Shiraz
L-R, Second 4: NARS Damage, Buxom Lip Tarnish in Wardrobe Malfunction, Korres Lip Butter in Wild Rose, Korres Lip Butter in Plum

swatches

L-R, First 4: YSL glossy stain in 20, Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Crush*, Tarte LipSurgenze in Dazzled*, Bite Beauty Shiraz
L-R, Second 4: NARS Damage, Buxom Lip Tarnish in Wardrobe Malfunction, Korres Lip Butter in Wild Rose, Korres Lip Butter in Plum

swatches

L-R, First 4: YSL glossy stain in 20, Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Crush*, Tarte LipSurgenze in Dazzled*, Bite Beauty Shiraz
L-R, Second 4: NARS Damage, Buxom Lip Tarnish in Wardrobe Malfunction, Korres Lip Butter in Wild Rose, Korres Lip Butter in Plum

swatches

This lighting makes me look quite tanned! (I’m not.)
L-R, First 4: YSL glossy stain in 20, Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Crush*, Tarte LipSurgenze in Dazzled*, Bite Beauty Shiraz
L-R, Second 4: NARS Damage, Buxom Lip Tarnish in Wardrobe Malfunction, Korres Lip Butter in Wild Rose, Korres Lip Butter in Plum

 

6 thoughts on “My Top 8 Lip Colors For the Perilously Pale (or anyone who has lips!).

  1. As a fellow pigmentally challenged individual, this is very helpful! I was far too shy to wear anything on my lips right up until this year when I really got into my lipsticks, (and you’re right, every colour does look magnified on pale skin) so will definitely check out the products you’ve listed. You look stunning in both pictures by the way! xo

    • I was absolutely blown away when I saw that you commented! I’ve loved your blog for quite some time now. Thanks for stopping by mine. If you try any out you’ll have to let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

